Brexit and citizens

The free movement of EU citizens between the EU countries and the United Kingdom ceased when the UK withdrew from the EU’s single market on 31 December 2020.  The EU-UK Withdrawal Agreement safeguards the rights of EU citizens who have moved to the UK and, correspondingly, UK citizens who have moved to the EU on 31 December 2020 at the latest.

The Trade and Cooperation Agreement (TCA) includes agreement on visa-free travel and stay in the UK and the EU respectively. Currently, UK citizens are allowed to stay in the Schengen Area without a visa for up to 90 days in any 180-day period. EU citizens may travel to the United Kingdom and stay there for up to six months without a visa. To stay there longer or to work there may require a residence or work permit.

Before setting off, travellers must check with the authorities of their country of destination for the latest immigration regulations. Here are some websites maintained by the UK authorities with information on the entry regulations to the UK(Link to another website.) (Opens New Window).