Finnish schools

The purpose of the Finnish Schools is to support bilingual children’s language learning and the expatriate children about Finnish culture.

The Finnish Schools strengthen the Finnish identity of those living in Britain, especially the identity of children of British-Finnish families. The Finnish Schools are important cultural hubs for all local Finns, Finnish-British families, and friends of Finland.

The purpose of the Finnish Schools is

  • to support the language learning and in the Finnish-British families
  • strengthen the Finnish identity
  • give information about Finland, Finnish history and geography
  • offer Finnish language training for children and adults.

Currently there are around 20 Finnish Schools operating in the United Kingdom and their sizes vary from ten pupils to almost one hundred pupils. All in all, there are approximately 500 pupils, 200 adult learners, and 70 teachers in the Finnish Schools in the UK.

Finnish Schools' contact details

BIRMINGHAM
Anna Vines, info(at)midlandfinns.co.uk
Finnish School in Birmingham

BRIGHTON 
Hanna Drummond, hlahtevanoja(at)yahoo.co.uk
Mia Glass, brightfinns(at)gmail.com
Finnish School in Brighton

BRISTOL 
Kirsti Gibbs, kirsti.gibbs(at)blueyonder.co.uk
Nick Cockin, nick(at)finlandinbristol.co.uk
Finnish School in Bristol

CAMBERLEY 
Minna Woodward, minna.woodward(at)btinternet.com
contact(at)suomikoulu.org
Finnish School in Camberley

CAMBRIDGE 
Hanna Winberg-Watson, winbergwatson(at)gmail.com
info(at)cambridgesuomikoulu.org.uk
Finnish School in Cambridge

CARDIFF 
Kaisa Pankakoski, kaisapan(at)hotmail.com
Virpi Ylänne, ylannevt(at)gmail.com
suomikoulucardiff(at)gmail.com
Finnish School in Cardiff

CROYDON 
Satu Francis, satufrancis(at)gmail.com
Finnish School in Croydon

EAST LONDON
Katja Kinnarinen, italontoonsuomikoulu(at)gmail.com
East London Finnish School

EDINBURGH 
Julia Ramula ja Anu Huhtinen, edinburghinsuomikoulu(at)gmail.com
Finnish School in Edinburgh

FROME
Pia Valtanen-Amies, pianet(at)mac.com

GLASGOW 
Satu Baylan, contact(at)glasgowfinnishschool.org.uk
Finnish School in Glasgow

KINGSTON-UPON-THAMES 
puheenjohtaja(at)fsok.org
paaopettaja(at)fsok.org
Finnish School in Kingston

LEEDS 
Tero Väänänen, tero.vaananen(at)iki.fi
Finnish School in Leeds facebook

LEICESTER 
Kirsi Tikkanen, kirsituomo(at)gmail.com
Finnish School in East Midlands

LIVERPOOL 
Marja Nurmikko, marjanurmikko48(at)gmail.com
Finnish Shcool in Liverpool

LONDON 
Inka Mustalampi, inka.mustalampi(at)gmail.com
Finnish School in London

MANCHESTER 
Kari Henrik Tumelius, karihenrik63(at)hotmail.com
Finnish School in Manchester

NEWCASTLE 
Lotta Väänänen, newcastlensuomikoulu(at)gmail.com

OXFORD 
Helena Simons, oxford.finnish(at)googlemail.com
Finnish School in Oxford facebook

PORTSMOUTH 
Virva Conroy, virva.martikainen(at)hotmail.com
Eeva Hack, familyhack15(at)sky.com

ST ALBANS
Heni Järvi, suomikoulusta(at)gmail.com
Finnish School in St Albans

Suomi-koulujen koulutustyöryhmä UK eli SUUKKO-työryhmä
Työryhmä vastaa Britannian Suomi-kouluopettajien vuosittaisten koulutuspäivien järjestämisestä sekä tiedottaa ja neuvoo Suomi-kouluja yhteisesti koskevissa asioissa mahdollisuuksien mukaan.
Pia Valtanen-Amies, uksuukko(at)gmail.com