Study in Finland

Finland's world-leading higher education system currently offers English-taught bachelor’s and master’s degree programmes in 13 universities and 23 universities of applied sciences. Doctoral study and research options are available, too. In Finland, there are two types of higher education institutions:


Universities focus on scientific research and the education they provide is based on it. Doctoral programmes are offered by the universities. Most of the master’s programmes taught in English are offered by universities.

Universities of Applied Sciences

Universities of Applied Sciences (UAS) offer professionally oriented higher education and have strong ties with working life and regional development. Most of the bachelor’s degree programmes taught in English are offered by Universities of Applied Sciences.

Student Exchange

The Embassy has a written a student exchange guide for students already accepted into an exchange program in Finland. The guide details everything you need know such as preparing for the weather, student accommodation, and even the importance of sauna. Please note, Australian nationals will require a residence permit if your study period in Finland is longer than 90 days. To apply for student exchange opportunities in Finland please contact your university’s study abroad office.

Here is a list of Australian institutions with student exchange partners in Finland:

Australian Catholic University Australian National University
Central Queensland University Charles Sturt University
Curtin University Deakin University
Federation University Macquarie University
Monash University Murdoch University
Queensland University of Technology RMIT University
Swinburne University of Technology University of Canberra
University of Melbourne University of New South Wales
University of Queensland University of Sydney
University of Tasmania University of Technology Sydney
University of the Sunshine Coast University of Western Australia
University of Wollongong Victoria University
Western Sydney University  

Bachelor, Master & Doctoral Programmes

Finnish higher education institutions offer over 400 degree programmes in English. website provides information on all English-taught degree programmes. While international students are eligible to study in Finnish or Swedish, you need to be fluent in these languages when applying.

Application Periods

You apply for degrees studies in Finland online. There are two main application periods a year for studies commencing in autumn:

  • Applications for bachelor’s programmes are made in January

  • Applications for university master's programmes are made between late November/early December and mid/late January.

More information about the application process can be found at

Fees & Scholarships

Australian nationals are required to pay tuition fees for programmes taught in English. Some exceptions may apply. Remember that if you are required to pay tuition fees, you are also eligible to apply for the institution’s scholarships. Students are usually required to cover everyday living costs and are required to pay an annual administration fee.

Universities offer a range of options for scholarships both for bachelor's and master's level international students. Scholarships are often based on student’s academic performance and may be offered in the form of either full or partial fee waivers. Some scholarship options may also include a living cost allowance. Students apply for a scholarship from an institution, usually at the same time as they apply for admission.

Here is a list of each institution’s fee and scholarship policy.

Aalto University

Åbo Akademi University

Arcada University of Applied Sciences

Centria University of Applied Sciences

Diaconia University of Applied Sciences

Haaga-Helia University of Applied Sciences

Häme University of Applied Sciences

Hanken School of Economics

Humak University of Applied Sciences

Jyväskylä University of Applied Sciences

Kajaani University of Applied Sciences

Karelia University of Applied Sciences

Lahti University of Applied Sciences

Lapland University of Applied Sciences

Lappeenranta-Lahti University of Technology

Laurea University of Applied Sciences

Metropolia University of Applied Sciences

Novia University of Applied Sciences

Oulu University of Applied Sciences

Saimaa University of Applied Sciences

Satakunta University of Applied Sciences

Savonia University of Applied Sciences

Seinäjoki University of Applied Sciences

South-Eastern Finland University of Applied Sciences

Tampere University

Tampere University of Applied Sciences

Turku University of Applied Sciences

University of Arts Helsinki

University of Eastern Finland

University of Helsinki

University of Jyväskylä

University of Lapland

University of Oulu

University of Turku

University of Vaasa

Vaasa University of Applied Sciences


There are currently no national scholarships available for international bachelor’s or master’s level students. Doctoral students should contact their university directly for more information.

Finnish Government Scholarship Pool

The Finnish National Agency for Education (EDUFI) offers scholarships of 3-9 months for Doctoral level studies and research at Finnish universities or public research centre. In order to be an eligible applicant for this scholarship, you must be an Australian national. For more information about eligibility requirements and application guidelines, please visit the Finnish National Agency of Education website.