Formation of the government after the Finnish parliamentary elections

Parliamentary elections were held in Finland on 14 April 2019. The process of forming a new government begins after the organising of the new Parliament and the State Opening of Parliament.

A representative of the parliamentary group that gained the most seats in Parliament at the election will invite the representatives of the parliamentary groups to a meeting to agree on the leader of the preliminary discussions on the formation of a new government. 

The leader of the discussions will give each of the groups a list of questions to ascertain the parties’ views on the issues considered essential in the formation of the Government.

On the basis of the discussions with the parliamentary groups and the responses received by the agreed deadline, the leader of the discussions will decide which groups will start negotiating to form a new government.

In the actual government formation talks that follow this initial phase, discussions will be held to determine the Government Programme, the number of ministers, their division of responsibilities and the allocation of portfolios.

On the basis of these negotiations, and having heard the views of the Speaker of Parliament, the President of the Republic will inform Parliament of the nominee for Prime Minister to be put forward for election by Parliament. The nominee is elected Prime Minister, if his or her election is supported by more than half the votes cast in an open vote in Parliament.

The President appoints the ministers, including the Prime Minister, at a presídential session. The session will be attended by the members of the departing administration who are granted resignation.

Immediately after its appointment, the new Government will convene to its first plenary session. At the beginning of the session, the Ministers will take an oath of office or make an affirmation of office and take a judicial oath, if they have not yet done so. 

At the first plenary session, the Government will decide on the division of responsibilities among the ministers working in the same Ministry, the members of the statutory ministerial committees and the deputies for the Prime Minister and other ministers. A Government statement to Parliament will also be issued concerning the incoming Government’s programme. At the end of the discussion, Parliament will hold a vote of confidence on the Government.