Government plans to lift restrictions on tourism

Government plans to lift restrictions on tourism

The Government plans to lift the internal border control from 13 July for those countries where the incidence of COVID-19 is at a sufficiently low level. Based on the current development of the epidemic, internal border control could be lifted for the following countries: Austria, Croatia, Cyprus, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Liechtenstein, Slovakia, Slovenia, and Switzerland.


The Government will update the list on the basis of the development of the epidemic; the final list of countries will be decided at the Government plenary session by 10 July.

The Ministry for Foreign Affairs will update its travel recommendations after the Government plenary session, at the latest on 10 July.

The Ministry for Foreign Affairs recommends avoiding unnecessary travel to countries other than those for which internal border control and quarantine recommendations have been lifted. At the moment, these countries include Norway, Denmark, Iceland, Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania.

Although Finland has abandoned internal border controls and quarantine recommendations for certain countries, these countries may have their own restrictions on the admission of tourists. Travellers should check up-to-date entry regulations before each journey from the authorities of the country of destination, for example from the nearest mission of the country in question.

Lue lisää: